BREE LOUISE – LONDON

Bree Louise
69 Coburg Street
London
NW1 2HH

FIRST VISIT: WEDNESDAY 12 MARCH 2014

The Bree Louise, much loved by CAMRA-types and New Model Army fans looking for a pre-gig libation. But much sneered upon by the majority of those of those of us of make up the beer geek community. Yeah, it always has a vast array of beer for sale. And some of it is from what we like to describe as ‘good breweries’. But very rarely is the beer in decent condition. And only occasionally do the staff seemed anything other than disinterested in the task at hand. The carpets are sticky, the tables are sticky, the bogs are stinky.

I was in the Euston Tap. It was rammed. I looked an app that tells you what beers are in what pubs and discovered that the Bree were currently pouring Art Brew’s Bouncy. I like Art Brew and my like for them helped override my better judgement and I sauntered off towards Coburg Street. Bad move. I’ve not had Bouncy before but I’ve had enough Art Brew beers to be pretty certain that it wasn’t meant to taste the way it was tasting. Put simply, it had the Bree Louise tang.

I twatted about on the free wifi. Braved the bogs. Failed to dry my hands, using the Dyson Airblade, within the quoted ten seconds. And departed. No doubt sometime in the future I will forget or choose to disregard history and return to the Bree Louise. No doubt I will once again leave disappointed.

Leave a Reply

